SNP Take Control Of Neighbouring Clackmannan Council

Cllr Tom Coleman

The SNP won the leadership of neighbouring Clackmannanshire Council after a vote of no confidence removed the ineffective Labour administration. Clackmannanshire becomes the 11th council to be led by the SNP and the 13th council in Scotland with the SNP in administration giving the party an early boost in election year.

In contrast Labour is on the slide and expected to lose out in Falkirk Council when the area goes to the polls in May.

The no confidence vote followed concerns over Labour’s management of
finances at Clackmannanshire and continued criticism of care services for
children in Clackmannanshire. The no confidence vote was supported by an
independent councillor and a former member of the Labour administration.

The SNP will now form the administration of Clackmannanshire Council under
the leadership of Cllr Gary Womersley with fellow SNP Cllr Tina Murphy as

Speaking after votes in the council saw him elected as Falkirk Council SNP Group Depute Leader, Tom Coleman said,:

“This is a good step forward for Clackmannanshire and a new start for
Clackmannanshire council.

First of all, congratulations to our neighbours in Clackmannan Council for winning the vote of no confidence in the Labour Administration.

Having witnessed first hand the mismanagement of the Central Scotland Police Board by a senior Clackmannan Labour Councillor I have no doubt that the people of Clacks will see positive changes in the performance of their local council”

Cllr Coleman also believes that the Clackmannan outcome bodes well for change in Falkirk in less than five months time. He went on to say

With both Stirling and Clackmannan Council’s under SNP control this bodes well for the SNP in Falkirk where we are only 1 seat behind Labour.

Not only are Labour in decline but the SNP continues to rise in the polls as the people recognise that it is the SNP who are standing up against the Westminster Tory / Lib Dem cuts agenda.

The bonus for residents of Forth Valley is that the change process ahs commenced earlier in 2012 than originally anticipated.”
1. The SNP is now part of the administration in Aberdeen, City of
Edinburgh , Clackmannanshire, Dundee, East Ayrshire, East Lothian, East
Renfrewshire, Fife, Perth and Kinross, Renfrewshire, Stirling, West
Dunbartonshire, West Lothian.

2. The SNP leads 11 of the 13 councils either as minority or lead partner
in a coalition and is the junior partner in Edinburgh and East

3. The SNP are currently only one seat behind Labour in Falkirk Council and are being strongly tipped to overtake Labour in May’s elections.




This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *